Sword Art Online

Sword Art Online (Season 1)


This is a post about an anime series.  Anime (for the most part) are NOT kids cartoons. I cannot stress that enough.

Anyway, this isn’t a post to talk about the virtues of this art style or such, this is a post to talk about ‘Sword Art Online‘.

I hesitated for a long time before i watched this. Mainly because the story line just didn’t seem that great to me.

In the year 2022, thousands of people get trapped in a new virtual MMORPG and the lone wolf player, Kirito, works to escape.

It sounded to me, rather 2 dimensional (no pun intended) and without merit… basically another standard run-of-the-mill anime that will have no merit and no soul. I couldn’t have been further from the truth.

I was sitting on the couch about 2 months ago when on Netflix i saw SAO appear in my ‘recommended’ list but dismissed it for the above reasons… then i started reading the description of the episodes and was intrigued. I had heard some glowing reviews of this show in the past but just thought it wouldn’t be for me as not everything, as i’ve said before, is to everyone’s taste.

So i watched episode 1… then episode 2… and so on… and before i knew it the first 10 episodes were gone in a flash. It had me hooked.

Im not going to go and spoil this for you as that’s not my style so you will have to take me at my word with this.

For me the greatest surprise is how human this show became, how far past the simple premise that Kirito must save everyone it went.

It has adventure, love, loyalty, humility, romance and loss with unquenchable rage. Characters that have flaws and vulnerabilities far beyond what i was expecting.

The lead character and his drive to fulfill his wishes and the weight he feels he has to carry with himself.

I don’t really know how much i can say without spoiling it as that’s the last thing i would ever want to do. I want you to experience it for yourself and get pulled along by the gravity of it.

5-Reels

Trailer:

http://www.imdb.com/title/tt2250192/

Leave a Reply

